England, the 2017 FIFA Under-20 World Cup Winners

Written by sports guru- Wallace Muya;

England are once again World Cup winners. This time, they have won the Under-20 FIFA World Cup, that has concluded today. It is regarded as the biggest global tournament in youth football. They’ve beaten Venezuela 1-0 in the final.

This is the second biggest international title that England have won, ever since hosting and subsequently winning the 1966 FIFA World Cup. It was also their first appearance in such a major global tournament’s final ever since the aforementioned 1966 FIFA World Cup.

This was the 21st edition of the tournament and it was held in South Korea from May 20th to June 11th 2017


© Getty Images and FIFA.com

Launching Careers:

The FIFA Under 20 World Cup is often seen as the launch of the careers of most young footballers. Previous winners of this said tournament include Lionel Messi (2005) and Luis Figo (1989 and 1991). England’s team that competed but never won in 2013, gave rise to top stars today including John Stones (Manchester City), Ross Barkley (Everton) and Eric Dier and Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur).

Six of Serbia’s team that won the 2015 event, have gone on to make a full international debut, two years after winning the tournament.

Player of the Tournament:

Dominic Solanke lifts the FIFA U-20 World Cup trophy

© Getty Images and FIFA.com

After the match, England forward Dominic Solanke, who will be playing for Liverpool from July 1st 2017, after leaving the Premier League Champions Chelsea, was awarded the Golden Ball. The Golden Ball is awarded to the player of the tournament. Previous winners of the award include Argentina’s Diego Maradona, Sergio Aguero, and Lionel Messi, Portugal’s Luis Figo, and France’s Paul Pogba.

England’s Road:

The best England had gotten in the Under-20 tournament was third place in 1993. Four of the players in that squad went on to represent England in the national team.


© Getty Images and FIFA.com

England’s Under-17 team won the European Championship in 2010 and 2014. Of the team that won in 2014, six players competed in this Under-20 FIFA World Cup.

Let’s hope this will spark something in the World Cup squad that will represent England next year in the World Cup in Russia, and propel them to success like they did in 1966 and like their younger brothers have done, not only today, but since 2010 with the Under-17s



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s