The League Cup Returns

The English League Cup, this time round known as the EFL Carabao Cup is making its third round tonight. This Season, Carabao Energy Drinks are sponsoring the EFL Cup, hence the name Carabao Cup.

This annual knockout competition will be the 58th of all time. The reigning and defending champions are Manchester United. The tournament is important as winners qualify for the third qualifying round of the UEFA Europa League.


The Tournament:

The tournament involves 92 teams from across Wales and England. At the return stage tonight as well as tomorrow, the tournament will now involve the top-flight English Premier League teams. Teams from lower tiers of the leagues in England and Wales started off with the knockout stages back in early August. The competition will continue with the final two teams scheduled to compete at the Wembley Stadium for the EFL Carabao Cup on Sunday February 25th 2018.



At this third round, the 92 have been reduced to just 32 teams. Seven teams are new entrants while 25 are winners from the second round. The clubs entering in this round were the seven from the 2017–18 Premier League involved in European competition. The seven are Arsenal, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur.

There are only two teams from the third tier-league, Sky Bet League 2. The League is the third-highest and lowest division of the English Football League (EFL) and fourth-highest division overall in the English football league system. The teams are Bristol Rovers and Doncaster Rovers.



Tottenham Hotspur and Liverpool will be in action tonight while the other five will be in action tomorrow, Wednesday, September 20th 2017, in the only five games to be played tomorrow. This means that there will be eleven (11) games to be played tonight. Here is a detailed fixture for the competition’s third round


Tuesday September 19th 2017:

  • Aston Villa (2) vs Middlesbrough (2)
  • Bournemouth (1) vs Brighton & Hove Albion (1)
  • Brentford (2) vs Norwich City (2)
  • Bristol City (2) vs Stoke City (1)
  • Burnley (1) vs Leeds United (2)
  • Crystal Palace (1) vs Huddersfield Town (1)
  • Leicester City (1) vs Liverpool (1) 
  • Reading (2) vs Swansea City (1)
  • Tottenham Hotspur (1) vs Barnsley (2)
  • West Ham United (1) vs Bolton Wanderers (2)
  • Wolverhampton Wanderers (2) vs Bristol Rovers (3)

Wednesday September 20th 2017:

  • Arsenal (1) vs Doncaster Rovers (3)
  • Chelsea (1) vs Nottingham Forest (2)
  • Everton (1) vs Sunderland (2)
  • Manchester United (1) vs Burton Albion (2)
  • West Bromwich Albion (1) vs Manchester City (1)


  1. The teams in bold are the seven representing England in European competitions;
  2. The numbers in parentheses are the tier for the team during the 2017–18 season.

Post Author: MuigaiMuya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *